How Are You Doing Mrs Keeshan? :)

04/28/2022

I know this isn't typically practise related but it's something I am excited to write about and it might make it into my practise in some ways. On Saturday the 23rd of April 2022 my partner of 4 and a half years and I got married. It was the best day of our lives and everyday feels like we are on cloud 9 at the moment. Incidentally we have been watching a lot of a show called Superstore which follows a store called Cloud 9.

This wedding was more than just a celebration of the love my husband and I share. It was a huge breakthrough for me. As a child of a family of divorce it was instinctively it was hard as I was worried I would become like my mother and I wanted to continue to be the fearless feminist that I am. One of the big reasons I was worried about this (even though I am nothing like my mother) is because my dads family would always say 'don't be like your mother' and 'if you do that then your just like your mother' It's only recently more apparent that I was never like my mother and that my father and is family would always say that because they wanted me to only be like them and live the way they do. The truth is I was always like my Big Gran and getting married proved that to me. I couldn't be anything like my grandmother because she has been married twice (divorced once) and she never really did anything much in the way of her career (plus shes not  very nice person either).

I am proud to be like my Big Gran because she is the only role model I had in my biological line even though I didn't get to spend as much time as I would of liked. My Big Gran was a rebel in her youth but she channeled that into being an activist and most making her world views known in her writing, she did a degree at university, and she had one true love that she married that marriage lasted their whole lives. She was also a good parent and she tried to take my mum under her wing but my mother refused to let her in. My Big Gran was strong, a feminist, well educated and had a good head on her shoulders. She was also a teacher. I am an individual but it's also important to have a mother figure in your life and now I have two, my Big Gran and my Mother in law who is also strong, smart and a bit of an activist herself. I have proven to myself that I am everything that I wanted to become and I had to work damn hard to get here.

Now I am looking towards the future. I have a Mum and Dad to give Mothers day and Fathers day gifts to and when it comes to parenthood I barely think of my parents now. I'm a married woman and I have a family now and it's the one I have married into as well. My Husband is now officially my family as well and there's a huge and beautiful legacy we are going to lead and I feel like my Big Gran is smiling and shining down at us. I can feel she is so proud of us and more importantly I am proud of myself and I am proud of my husband and I. We are a perfect team, we are the dream team and the future is ours together.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started