My Last Year.....

05/29/2023

In the past year I haven't had a lot of exhibitions. I was planning on having two a year but as of recent I've found that I need to take a break. A lot has happened in my life as far as life events go but I've also gone into a rut again as far as being an artist goes and inflation makes it even harder to afford art supplies. It just goes to show that there is a lot more support when you're studying to be an artist than there is for graduates. 

Recently I have been pouring my energy into working, my Walk Everyday May event and my writing. I've been taking part in a writing group, writing workshops, an editing course and I think it's clear that I need to be focusing on my writing more as I didn't get to focus on it as much during my degree. I've also wondered whether exhibitions are right for me on the regular as having your artwork in books is another way of getting your work seen that is not as stressful.

So I have an exhibition coming up in June and another one in September but after that I am taking a few years break to work on my writing career and becoming a mum. Maybe I might have exhibitions in the future but right now I am focusing on my writing and illustrating my own books when I publish my first book. I have been working on putting together a poetry book which I plan on getting published by the end on this year or the start of 2024. I'm excited to explore this new avenue in my career and I will be setting up a website especially for my writing career as well. In the meantime check out my writers page on this website to see my old poetry blog and keep up to date with where I will be published along with my debut as an author.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started